[craftspace] DIY birthday cards on the double!

craftspace

Why, hello there! This past week, I volunteered to whip up four birthday cards… in half an hour. I already spent quite a bit of time perusing birthday cards in little boutiques – then realized trying to figure out which card “fit” each person’s personality (and the cost of the cards themselves) didn’t make the venture worthwhile. Making them myself sounded a lot more fun, gave me the chance to make it more personal, and didn’t take add a dime to my budget! 😉 The cards also had to provide enough writing space so many people could write sweet little messages to each person- don’t think I would have been able to find a card like that! Want to see and/or make them yourself? Have a look-see down below!

Materials you will need:

1) Some paper – I originally planned to make the cards using calligraphy paper. Why? I had a lot of it, it was a lovely texture, and it seemed cute!

IMG_0028

IMG_0027

IMG_0040

2) Some string-like material.

IMG_0029

3. Scissors. AKA some blades of doom! or just cutting. Your choice.

IMG_0030

4. A hole-punch!

IMG_0042

5. Decorations! Stickers, tape, more stickers, stickers, stickers. Fun :). It’s like revisiting your childhood without all the ice cream, running around in the park, playing with the slip ‘n slides in the summer… Hmm. That doesn’t sound so bad.

IMG_0031 IMG_0032 IMG_0033 IMG_0034

6. Markers!

IMG_0037

So here’s what went down.

[30 MINUTES ON THE CLOCK]

I was going to fold the calligraphy paper into quarters and cut them, but didn’t happen. Why? The paper ended up creasing way too easily, which I then reasoned would prevent the card from lasting long enough for everyone to sign them. They probably would have disintegrated before ever making their way into the hands of the birthday recipient! How sad would that be? 😦 Hence, this idea was nixed.

IMG_0026

IMG_0039 (muahahahahaha. the scissor are indeed blades of doom for this paper!)

What to do, what to do? AHA! I rummaged around in my stationery box (I initially wrote “stationary” and checked the definition to make sure I’d write the right word. And then I thought about it. Realized “stationary” makes as much sense as “stationery” because that container most definitely cannot move on its own – at least not to my knowledge.It would simply describe a different aspect of the box. But I digress from digressing. Let’s move on!)

I chose this notepad paper instead. So easy to remove (no cutting involved!), and a beautiful-slightly-off-white color that makes it a smidgen more special than regular computer paper.It was softer, too!

IMG_0040 IMG_0041 IMG_0043 (so nice.)

Then, I punched two holes in the paper, two inches apart. Refer below for visual representation of the past text.

IMG_0042 IMG_0044

IMG_0045 (like so.)

[25 MINUTES ON THE CLOCK]

Then, take an artsy photo of your hole punch and some string.

IMG_0046

And then measure out at least a foot. Cut.

IMG_0047

You can simply thread it through the two holes and tie it in a secure knot on one side (I did this for the mens’ cards).

IMG_0048

Or you can be innovative and do something a little more intricate with a cute little bow (I did this for the ladies’ cards).

IMG_0050  IMG_0052 IMG_0053 IMG_0054

What next? Decorate to your heart’s content! For all of them, I used this “film” sticker tape that I bought on sale from Claire’s for about… $1! So worth it, and I love how they turned out :).

[15 MINUTES ON THE CLOCK]

IMG_0055 IMG_0056 IMG_0057 IMG_0058 IMG_0059 IMG_0060  IMG_0062 IMG_0063

You can also use your markers to add some decorations, like so!

Here are some details of the final products:

photo (15)

photo (16)

photo (17)

photo (18)

[0 MINUTES ON THE CLOCK]

Success!

I hope this was helpful and enjoyable~ have a lovely day!

2 thoughts on “[craftspace] DIY birthday cards on the double!

    1. I’m so glad!! I love having things around the house to use for projects such as this – you never know when you’ll find something handy! 😀 I hope your friends love it too!

Leave a Reply

