[thoughtspace] That Smooth Talk

thoughtspace

photo (74)

[yes, this is a drawing by the father. what is it? what could it be but a porcupine complete with a flaming tail and nerdy glasses? yes, he’s the best dad ever.]

It was the end of quite a long day, and I called my dad. You know, just to let him know I’m still alive since the time I talked to him three days ago. Here’s a snippet of that conversation:

Dad: Hello, my daughter!

Me: Hi, dad!

Dad: How are you doing?

Me: I’m good, how are you doing?

Dad: Great, because I’m talking to you! (+10 man points)

Me: Haha are you busy right now?

Dad: Not too busy for you 🙂 (+100 man points)

Man, is my dad a smooth talker! But what makes the smooth-talking so sweet is that I know that he means it. And that is precious to me because I know how busy he is and how tired he can be – but he still makes time for and delights to talk to his daughter.

I kept thinking about that short verbal exchange because:

1.) I had no idea my dad was such a smooth talker.

2.) It reminded me of my heavenly Father.

And on this, I would like to elaborate:

My earthly dad strives to honor God every moment of his life, and it shows in everything that he does, the mentality he has, and the motivations that drive him. He is a busy person who wakes up early to prioritize his relationship with the Father, and then strives to work productively in the place where he has been placed to serve and labor. It usually isn’t until late that he sleeps, but he always has a smile on his face and arms out for an embrace. When I talk to him, my ramblings aren’t listened to with disdain or a “Why are you wasting my time with this” expression. Rather, he truly listens, not just hears, to what I say and responds in a way that shares his experiences but ultimately points to Scripture and to the Lord. He prays for me every day, and is faithful to check just to see how I am doing. His graciousness and heart of service towards others is astounding, and such an evident work of God’s grace in a sinful man. And, he tells me when I need to stop and think, pray, and/or repent.

And to think, and know for certain, that God is a Father infinitely greater! All I can say is… wow. God testifies to His own character, and I am so beyond blessed to be able to know this to be true in my life. To be adopted by Jesus’s work on the cross, and to through that great exchange of sin for Christ’s perfect righteousness have for a Father the creator of the universe! Wow.

Proverbs 13:24:

He who withholds his rod hates his son, but he who loves him disciplines him diligently.

I have definitely been seeing this in my own life. God is faithful and just, and he promises to perfect the good work He began in us Christians. He tells us in Matthew 7:14 that “the gate is small and the way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it.” To know He is faithful and will shepherd me (Psalm 23) though the way is difficult proves such a comfort and stronghold for me. What a marvelous thing it is to know the victory over death is sure, and joyful obedience to Christ can be had by God’s overwhelming grace!

To know He delights to hear the prayer of His children, even if what they lift up to Him is insignificant in the light of eternal matters, is crazy. God is infinitely wise, and knows the best way that He will glorify Himself in absolutely everything. And not only this, but He also promises (and He never breaks His promises!) to work all things for good to those who love Him (Romans 8:28). ALL THINGS! Talk about God’s sovereignty and what a bastion it is. God’s love – everlasting, unconditional, sacrificial commitment – blows my mind. I can’t even begin to grasp just how deep and rich it is.

And while this does not begin to cover (for truly, no amount of writing could every convey just how magnificent our heavenly Father is!), I’ll end with this (because as the chapter says, God does not slumber – but I need to!):

Psalm 121

1 I will lift up my eyes to the mountains;
From where shall my help come?
2 My help comes from the LORD,
Who made heaven and earth.
3 He will not allow your foot to slip;
He who keeps you will not slumber.

4 Behold, He who keeps Israel
Will neither slumber nor sleep.
5 The LORD is your keeper;
The LORD is your shade on your right hand.
6 The sun will not smite you by day,
Nor the moon by night.
7 The LORD will protect you from all evil;
He will keep your soul.
8 The LORD will guard your going out and your coming in

From this time forth and forever.

Amen!
2 thoughts on “[thoughtspace] That Smooth Talk

Leave a Reply

